Isuzu SUV Forum banner

The heavy part of my job ....

211K views 1K replies 41 participants last post by  93trooperpooper 
#1 ·
Some of you know I'm a heavy construction mechanic... Well this is one of those days where you pucker !!

That's a 10' tube on that there wrench, the hydraulic cylinders have a huge gland nut put on to about 6-800 ftlbs of torque !!! In the past I have used a mini excavator to push on the wrench just to break that torque... One down and one more to go.. I think each cylinder rod weighs 150 plus lbs to uuuggg !!!

See less See more
#2 ·
Archimedes would be proud...

#3 ·

Lol thanks Swede..!! So funny the rest is relatively easy it's just that big ole nut.... And unfortunately the crowd cylinder is leaking out its gland to , and it's even bigger !!

#6 ·
6-800 ft lbs, 10' bar.. jeesh, I believe it. thats just insane!

#8 ·
Ruination said:
Oh, the things you have to do to Bust a nut sometimes... :lol:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: TOO FUNNY!!

#9 ·
sometimes a lil lube will do it

#14 ·
Don't ask me who put the sticker on backwards lol.... I think gremlins !! I've got a great big 3/4" impact gun that will pop semi truck lugs but this sucker just laughed at it..

#15 ·
Who do you guys use for seal kits? I would immagine the OEM HITACHI seal kits are wicked expensive.
We have for years used BAUM HYDRAULICS for hyd. seals. HUGE selection and an awesome low price.
Just a thought.
http://www.baumhydraulics.com/home.php? ... 13a43d3fff

Give 'Em a call and they will gladly send you the "Big Red Book" of seals.
Absolutly invaluable to have on hand.
Where I work, the problem became that may of the (MUCH SMALLER) hyd. cylinders we got in for repair had seal kits that were no longer avalable from the OEM supplyer. So I had to come up with SOME kind of way to rebuild them. (O-Rings & backup rings dont allways work / fit every cylinder. I needed SEALS for some goofy made cylinders)