Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I'm a newbie, hoping to get some answers from good folks here.

My 1999 Rodeo LSE, 44K mi, owned since new. Everything on the truck is stock. I did all the maintenance myself and never had any problem, no dealer or repair garage visits except Isuzu recalls.

Here is what happened yesterday: I was at freeway on ramp waiting for my turn at the metering light to get in freeway. It took about 5 minutes to get up ahead in the first. Just when I pull up to the light and press the brake to stop to wait for the green light, suddenly I could feel the engine is accelerating and truck tries to buck forward. The scary thing is the harder I press on the brake, the faster the engine runs. My instinct is to put the trans in park. No use. I can still feel the truck is still moving. By now, my rear tires are spinning so fast that rubber smoke is everywhere. Finally, I manage to put the trans in Neutral and turn off the key. Restart it and everything is back to normal as nothing ever happens.

What's going on? Might it be that I press the brake and gas pedal at same time? Not likely. Even if I did that, put the truck in park should stop the movement right away. I'm taking the truck to the dealer tomorrow, but I doubt they can find anything since it's all back to normal now. Did anyone experience this kind of problem before?

·
Registered
7,209 Posts
Very well possible you had your foot on the gas and brake at the same time.

I don't think your truck is the drive by wire, I don't remember when Isuzu went to the DBW system.

My 98 still has the throttle cable.

Joe

·
Registered
2,334 Posts
99zoo said: