Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi.. just thought I'd join the fun. Looks like a great site.
We have owned a 92 trooper for ovaer 3 years without any problems.
I feel its time 108k to do a timing belt and wanted the list to chime in on any hidden features I should be aware of.
I have a Chilton manual and will follow that based on suggestions.
----------------
The second question would regard my Power Steering gear on the Trooper. It has a slow leak wich is mostly bothersome and does not effect the vehicle.
Has anyone done the lower shaft seal repair (where pitman attaches)
I have done chevy and saginaw but thought I would see if the BB has had any experience.
Thanksin Advance.
Bennett

·
Registered
558 Posts
I just finished doing a rebuild whith a Chiltons manual and it gave all the info i needed. Just be carful and take your time. As far as the steering pump goes. I have no experience whith that, but if you have done the repair on a Chevy this will be fundementally the same. Just read up on the procedure in the shop manaul! Good luck! :D

·
Registered
558 Posts
while your in there i see no reason not to. Whith my trooper the tensioner probly would have been good, but i just put in a new one for piece of mind.

·
Registered
1,286 Posts
Mepr posts good advice, take your time, mark everything, and be thorough.

On the subject of the timing belt changeout, it's generally a good idea that whatever accessories are behind the timing cover be changed out as part of a total refurb.

For instance, I'm preparing to change my wife's Honda Accord timing belt. The Accord water pump is behind the timing belt cover and the only part exposed is the pulley - so the water pump gets changed.

The tensioner or idler pulley is part of that changeout philosophy, along with the bolt it spins on and also the tensioner spring if it has one.