Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
336 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So as I have said in previous threads I am a newbie mechanic so I like to take lots of pics while working on my 1992 Rodeo with the 3.1 engine so I can remember how everything goes back together.

I noticed I wasn't getting very good gas mileage lately so I was doing some trouble shooting when I noticed fuel leaking out from my pressure regulator and one of the injectors didn't seem to be working as good as the other. I ordered a rebuild kit from Rock Auto and watched a few YouTube videos to learn how to install the kit.

Here's the pics and a short description of what they show:

First thing is to pull the fuse for the fuel pump and let the engine run until it dies to relieve the pressure from the fuel lines. Put the fuse back in and then disconnect the neg. battery terminal.

You can see my TBI is pretty filthy, along with the rest of my motor. I have only had this Rodeo a couple of months and the PO didn't take very good care of it so as soon as it warms up everything will get a good scrubbing.

Next remove the air cleaner by disconnecting the vacuum hoses and electricals from it and store it out of the way.

Remove the electrical clips to the injectors by squeezing on the two tabs (red) and pulling straight up.

Disconnect the fuel supply and return lines (green arrows), throttle cable (blue), throttle cable bracket (red), electricals (orange) and a half dozen vacuum hoses (not marked).
Then remove the 3 bolts (yellow) from the throttle body and lift the body out. Then find a comfortable place to work on it.

Now remove the rubber parts (blue) from around the injector terminals. Then remove the 8 bolts (yellow) and tap along the sides of the meter cover and regulator assembly with a plastic screwdriver to break it loose. The assembly is pretty fragile so be careful when removing it. I wouldn't try prying on it with a screwdriver, ya might bust it.