Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,580 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let’s just call it ‘research’ for now and leave it at that, but I have a few rather specific interrelated questions (several of which are going to make it sound like I’m a complete newbie â€" but honestly, as far as the 2nd gen Troopers are concerned, I basically am) --- Anyway, here goes:

The 2nd gens came with -38mm offset wheels, right?

Has anyone ever run a set of Zero offset wheels and 265/75-R16s?

If so, did they rub? / and either way, how much lift do you have?

A 1997 model would have the 3.2 DOHC, right?

On the same vehicle ^ with an automatic transmission, it would have the shift lever-actuated T-case â€" not the push-button variety, right?

And that would be the divorced T-case (removable from the transmission), wouldn’t it?

Also on the same vehicle:

It would have 4.56 gearing, correct?

Aside from a/c, pw, pdl, cc, and tilt… what else came with the LS package that year?

When lifted, a 2nd gen Trooper doesn’t suffer from the ‘upper link/ gas tank clearance problem’, like the 2nd gen Rodeos, does it?

[* and Drum-Roll please… *]

If you found a 1997 Isuzu Trooper LS listed for sale at $2400.00…
What are the first things you’d be checking -or- suspecting might be wrong with it?

TIA!

Cheers!
Smiley

·
Registered
7,209 Posts
Yes

I assume you are speaking of running this combo with no lift? If so yes. I know that Chase's truck that he bought from Tad 2 has an extremely offset wheel. Granted it also has been lifted. But the wheel wells on the second gen Troopers are bigger than those of a second gen Rodeo. 285/75/16's fit with minimal work.

Yes

On the same vehicle ^ with an automatic transmission, it would have the shift lever-actuated T-case â€" not the push-button variety, right?

And that would be the divorced T-case (removable from the transmission), wouldn’t it?