Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
571 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone do theirs on their own? I did mine for the first time this week. I thought it was about time I learned since I'm 21 now. Anyways in years past my father has claimed me as a dependent. I don't live with him but as part of my parents divorce agreement my mom allowed him to claim me. I received the help of a family friend to verify everything was correct, and she said since I was 21 my dad shouldn't be able to claim me as a dependent anymore, as I am not living under his roof, and he is not paying child support anymore.

I talked with my dad about it before I finished my return and he didn't seem to object to me claiming myself. So I did just that, seeing as I would receive a substantial amount more than I would have if he had claimed me, since I'm a full time student paying for my own schooling with no helps from grants or loans. Now he is incredibly pissed off at me, saying I've costed him thousands of dollars. He says that he would have been able to claim me until I was 26. I don't have a clue as to what arrangements him and my mom made when they divorced, and sadly neither does she :x . Which is correct?

·
Registered
1,568 Posts
From what details you gave, I don't think your dad can claim you as a dependent anymore. Mainly because there are 4 qualifications that must be met to claim somebody. Relationship, residence, age, and support. The relationship and age are within the requirements from the info your provided (I thought the age limit was 24 though, not 26 like your father said) but the residence and support requirements aren't met for him to claim you. You would have to live with your dad for over half of the year (minimum 6 months) out of the year to qualify, and lastly your dad would have to provide more than half of your financial support during the year.

I agree though, you did the right thing to claim yourself. Enjoy the extra money. :wink:

·
Registered