Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
'92 Amigo project. 8)
The car seems to "wander" as I'm driving and there appears to be SLOP when sitting and just moving the wheel
side to side. I know that the steering box can be tightened to some degree but what else in the front end
could I visually inspect for wear that cause such an issue.
I am basically a one handed mechanic :oops: due to nerve damage from
an old war injury ...so can't do the work but I would like to be able to comm with a front end guy and
not sound like a complete idiot. :roll:
Any thoughts would be helpful...I've gotten the diagram of the steering and suspension so I can reference that!

·
Registered
304 Posts
i have the same issue with my 99 trooper. There is maybe 1/2 inch play in the steering wheel when driving before i can actually feel the wheels turning. Maybe my ball joints are the issue. I have 110K miles.

·
Registered
397 Posts
It might be the steering gear box. Park the truck and have someone turn the wheel back and forth to find where the play is coming from. My pickup has a bad gear box.

** I have an extra fully rebuilt gear box for sale too. $200

·
Registered
3,933 Posts
On the 92, you could have a bad idler arm, pitman arm, tie rods or drag link. The steering box could also be sloppy or a combination of any/all of the above.

On the 99 Trooper, different set-up. Your truck has fewer steering parts and is likely to be worn tie rods. No drag link, idler or pitman.

·
Registered
3,196 Posts
so it wonders going down the road? could be a lot of things...steering box, tie rod ends, pitman arm etc

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
regards the "sloppy steering"...I just confirmed that the problem is!
...I think: a bad center link
...the shop said that it is a $400.00 part.
Now, I just went on line and found:
Part Number: MOOG-DS1168 from Energy Suspensions for $179.00.
What possibly could the difference be?