Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to Isuzu, but I've got a '94 Rodeo V6 4X4. I love this vehicle, but the engine is done. I've done some research and I know it's a possibility to drop a Chevy V8 in it, but no details. I don't want to start with anything crazy. I just want the easiest engine install possible. Do any of you have any ideas on what engines might just bolt up?

Sidenote: It would be swell to get a carb/distributor set up, if possible.

· Registered
5,012 Posts
TimmKitts said:
Automatic
Unfortunately there's no way a 4L30E will hold up to a V8. You'd have to go to a beefier transmission.

No adapters out there, however there are a number of ZooZoo Dudes involved in LS swaps to their Troopers.

Here's a LS 5.3 swap thread with tons of pics, it's done to a Gen I Trooper but a swap into a later Isuzu rig would be similar:

http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversions-h ... -swap.html

· Registered
7,077 Posts
Agreed easiest way is to shoehorn a small block and a 4 speed auto like a 4L60E use an adapter for an older Toyota T case that is right hand drop and you should be on your way.

· Registered
8,078 Posts
Yeah, but he also said "I just want the easiest engine install possible." None of the above is bolt-in stuff, he would have to fab mounts and crossmembers and new electronics and many other things.

· Registered
8,078 Posts
If only Isuzu had come out with the V8 for the Trooper like they were planning...

· Registered
7,077 Posts
If he had a manual trans then at least you could make an LS4 bolt to it. There are still issues to overcome but at least the transmission and transfer case could stay.

· Registered
2,244 Posts