Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
734 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, now that I have all the parts necessary to put my 3.4 together I am thinking about slowly taking this on. I have NO experience putting an engine together but I think it would be fun to learn.

Does anyone have any step by step directions? haha :roll:

The block and crank have been sitting for about a year, I assume I need to clean these before I put them together...will brake cleaner suffice? I have the book by Tom Venuto about how to rebuild a GM 60* engine but it is just a little overwhelming. Any tips and or tricks? Any and all help is greatly appreciated! I think this might be a good thread to compliment Bart's thread on his 3.4 swap because I will be putting one together from scratch.

I have 3 extra beds for people to sleep on too if anyone wants to come over!

·
Registered
4,499 Posts
I don't think brake cleaner will hurt the crankshaft, but I'd wipe it down (or spray) with light oil afterwards so it doesn't rust, as it will strip off all the oil. Probably best to keep it under wraps until just before you're gonna slap it in the block, that way the next thing you're doing with it is slapping on some engine assembly lube. Be sure to get some of that!!! :)

Scrub the cylinder walls with hot, soapy water. I use a round toilet brush, but whatever works for you. Scrub, scrub, scrub until a paper towel with a light spray of WD-40 or equivalent comes out spotless when you wipe the cylinder down. You'll be very surprised on how much stuff comes out of that 'clean' bore! Spray down the bores with WD afterwards, to flush any water away and prevent rust until assembly.