Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
455 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought my 1st Isuzu.
Its a 89 amigo 2.6l manual 4x4 w/210k miles.
I have loved these cars since I rode in my buddies back in high school , 1990ish.
Im not new to working on cars , hell its what I do for a living.
Im a tech and a Hot Rod shop.
Anywyas, the guy I bought it from was the 2nd owner , he bought it in 95 w/45k miles on the odom from the original owner.
The engine is pretty well oiled over, probbably valve cover gasket .
Runs and drives great .
Back to the real Q.
He has been running Dello 400 15w40 since 45k miles and there is NO valve tick , like some other Isuzu's Ive heard and heard of.
I wanted to switch to Full synthetic Mobil 1 but am alittle afraid to shock the vehicel into another type/brand/wieght oil since it has done so well till now .
What do you all think?

·
Registered
825 Posts
i don't think that model engine is prone to the infamous ticking.. only the later V6s with the hydrolic lifters are really notorious for the death tick...

Delo 400 is an incredable value in oil... containing a large amount of group 3 synthetic. (it's not POA base stock, like you find in Mobil 1, but you will find other brands selling group 3 synthetic oils for $4+/quart, examples include: castrol syntec (all but 0w30 made in germany), quaker state "synthetics"..) At $7.50 per gallon, the delo 400 contains the best base stock for the money of any oil you can buy...

Here's what I suggest...