Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been troubleshooting my coolant leak for a bit where my trooper would just dump all the coolant she had as soon as I would fill her up. I finally tracked it down to one of the coolant hoses on the left side of the engine is completely unplugged. Rubber throughout the hose looks good and all, seems as if it was just dislodged. My problem is I'm struggling to find any manuals online to see what it would entail to plug the end of the hose back in. It seems to attach between the engine and the firewall and I cant figure out how to see in there from the top, bottom, or wheel well.

Does anyone have any experience replacing this hose? and is it enough of a pain I should just take it to a shop? I'm an amateur and its getting cold out.

Thanks!

Automotive tire Tread Tire Synthetic rubber Motor vehicle
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Grey Hood Automotive exterior

·
Registered
738 Posts
This hose & the one next to it is for your heater core supply and return. The rubber hose simply slides onto the steel tube, then slide the clam on. its pretty straight forward repair

·
Registered
9,871 Posts
I'm going to take a wild shot and say that's one of your heater core hoses. You say "left side". Your pictures seem to show the RIGHT side (side is determined as if you were sitting in the vehicle facing forward - we could say passenger or driver side, but there are many on here in other countries with RHD.
Can you see the end of the hose? I had a '94 3.2 Trooper and the heater core had plastic nipples that the hoses hooked to. Those nipples became brittle with age and easily broke off. Finding replacements (or even a whole heater core) may be difficult. Note also that replacing any of this requires removal of the complete dash. Dennis

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·