Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Just bought a 2000 Isuzu trooper can’t tell what model vin code :Jacds58x9y7j13490
is it a limited , s, Lt, or what does not have a badge anywhere I can find ?
also 1st 2 nd 3 rd generation?
i am going to have to put an engine in it as vale is stuck and cam is chipped it’s a 3.5 L v6 auto trans 2 wheel drive. Due to this forum I know it’s going to be easier than I thought to convert to 4x4 soooo thank you all for that !
I am a 27 year mechanic who took an involuntary vacation for 12 yrs and used to be a Toyota 4x4 nut who put $14,000 into a 1984 pickup then took it all out and put in a 1988 4Runner 9 inch lift 38 tires 440Hp small block 350 high steer crossover steering On the custom Sas swap so I’m no dummy just need good info on new to me brand since yota’s and pretty much everything else is to expensive.

·
Registered
165 Posts
Congrats on you new toy!

A 2000 Trooper would be second gen (first gen being 1984-1991 here in the US). I don't know much about 2nd Gen Troopers, but on 1st Gens the tag that shows the model and paint code and etc. is on the firewall on the left side (looking at it) of the engine bay.

·
Registered
591 Posts
2000 is a late second gen trooper. If you are that good at fabrication and building vehicles don't bother with the 3.5 & stock 4wd components. Drop in a V8 of your choice with a solid axle along with your choice of transmission and t case.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
2000 is a late second gen trooper. If you are that good at fabrication and building vehicles don't bother with the 3.5 & stock 4wd components. Drop in a V8 of your choice with a solid axle along with your choice of transmission and t case.