Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just recently bought an '88 Trooper II. I thought it was a great deal, until I discovered last night the 4wd is not engaging. It has an auto tranny, with manual hubs. The 4wd light comes on, and it will shift into low range, but the front wheels don't pull that I can tell. I can drop the back tires in a mud hole, and they will spin with the front sitting on dry ground. No noise, grinding, or anything to indicate they are not pulling or something is wrong other than they aren't working. I'm new to Isuzu, so patronize me in explanations. Is it something simple, or has my good deal gone bad? Any suggestions? Thanks.

·
Premium Member
5,577 Posts
I assume that you have the 2.6l 4cyl engine.

This may sound like a dumb question, but does the 4wd light come on when you shift into 4wheel drive? You have the hubs set in the lock position, right?

After that, check to see if the driveshaft has been removed, or maybe one of the front axle shafts.

The next step would be to remove the hub covers. Those hubs can be assembled incorrectly, and they might not engage.

Bruce did an outstanding job describing the hubs at the following URL:

http://myweb.cableone.net/bcanderson/tr ... 0hubs.html

-Tad

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Maybe I overstated "patronize"...LOL!