Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
6,859 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I've been planning this for a while, been collecting the material that I thought I might use, borrowed my father-N-Laws's welder and finally got around to starting it.

I've basically followed Joe D's lead on the basic shape, throwing in a few details of my own. Thanks for the inspiration Joe!

Pictures aren't the greatest but here are the details of the build so far.

I started by dropping the spare and pulling off the cladding. Got a face full of dirt in the process...... :roll: It did give the opportunity to look more closely at things, I'm going to need to clean up some rusty spots around the spare tire carrier before I put everything back together, that's for sure!

I haven't welded since I was in high school shop class, so I basically had to re-learn to weld......and I'm still learning throughout the course of this project. The good thing about ugly welds, grinding wheels make them look purdy!

Here is the basic part of the build, a piece of structural steel rescued from the dumpster. I drug this big chunk and it's twin all the way from California with me! They were originally going to be Trooper bumpers. The receiver hitches are something I've kicked around for a while. The regular 2" in the center, two 1 1/4" for the outsides. 2" to be used as a hitch, the smaller ones will be used for d rings, a cargo tray mount, winch mount, jack points, you name it.

Pretty crude but just the layout