Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone tried to do a boot replacement with this kit? I'm OK with tools, but I'm no mechanic. My local shop quoted $400-$500 to replace cv's cause they don't do just the boots. When I asked about just replacing boots they said it would cost me almost as much as doing the cvs because the labor was the same. Just wondering if this job was a real bear or not.

http://www.independent4x.com/item.jhtml ... ID=1081216

·
Registered
188 Posts
Yes there very easy the kit comes with a video on how to put them on, but the tear down to get to the point of putting them you need to know what you are doing. Good luck Don

·
Registered
478 Posts
Here you go:
http://4x4wire.com/isuzu/tech/CVboots/?

Follow this guide EXACTLY, and you will be able to do it yourself. Be careful, go slow, and follow those directions EXACTLY, and it is a piece of cake. I accidentally skipped one or two of the minor minor details, and it made it much much harder.

The mecatech video doesnt go into enough detail, but does help to explain how to do the basic principals.
HTH,
-J :wink:

·
Registered
325 Posts
I did mine in about 2 hours, with a $40 finish cost for both new boots. The hammer trick for loosening the upper ball joint works best if you place another hammer on the opposite side of the spindle that you are going to swack. I use a pair of 5 pounders, and usually need 4 or 5 good hits to break the taper loose.
Good luck, GEG

·
Registered
478 Posts
bigpoppax2 said:
You have to pay extra for the video.
I bought my kit from Matt at Indy4x and, as advertised, it came with the DVD. I didnt have to pay extra.
-J :wink:

·
Registered
731 Posts
96rodeo said:
Wow, pry bars and sledge hammers... now I'm a bit nervous. :(
Those are pretty standard tools for any ball joint removal. They are not unique to the Isuzu's.