Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got a late start because it was 20 degrees this morning. I am in Florida and I thought there was global warming. Anyway, I pulled the radiator first because I am going to have it pressure tested in a tank at a local shop just to be on the safe side. Since this is my first time I took it slow and took lots of pics and tagged hoses with tape so I know where things go back to. I have to replace alot of the hoses, cracks, dry rot, and I had to cut the lower radiator hose to get it off.

Got everything off and pulled the rocker arm cover and this is what it looks like, is this typical, should it be cleaner? It almost looks burnt on.

top of the inside of the cover

·
Registered
7,210 Posts
That looks like it's had dino oil all it's life. That and yes, it may have been a bit hot at some point. I assume you are getting it torn down that far so you can adjust your valves?

If not go ahead and adjust them while you are there.

Joe

·
Registered
2,521 Posts
finniefish said:
Got everything off and pulled the rocker arm cover and this is what it looks like, is this typical, should it be cleaner? It almost looks burnt on.

top of the inside of the cover
Even though it's a 2.3 which I really don't know anything about, It look's as though it shouldn't be that way, Is it just the pic's or me, but that look's really red to me, almost like really watery red mud. I think your right, it look's like it has been burned on, But again thats what it look's like to me. Ok so: What does it smell like? Burned, like the Oil has been Very hot? or like oil should smell after it's been used and you get some on your hand's, and you smell it. ( Come on, I know you ALL have done it, and still do, it can tell you lots of things by the smell: Over Fuel yada yada. ) I'm also wondering what type Oil they were using before you got it. Or what type of additive's they had in the oil. Still that doesn't look right.

·