Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an Isuzu Tech and no the noise is not normal. No Isuzu will not pay for it because it is considered to be a maitenance issue (personally I think they should pay for it but who am I) which is only covered 12mos or 12,000 miles.

Call around find a place that handles RED CROWN grease it is usually carried by places that handle heavy equipment parts (NAPA). This stuff is really thick and nasty be sure to wear latex gloves when you handle it because it is not fun to wash off. Also look inside of your driveshafts there is a small vent hole in the plastic plug appx 1/8 of an inch drill it out go large about 1/2 in. if this does not help, and it should. Then take it to your dealer tell them to get on the phone with Tech Asst. to find out about something I just heard about but have not tried yet which is a transmission band adjustment. I dont know if this will be covered by warranty. But they should at least make an effort to call and get the info for you. I will try to get more on it and let you know.

·
Registered
26 Posts
2eye,
Yes the dealer should fix it under warranty. There is not a lubrication schedule for the slip-joint, therefore when it causes drivability problems and the annoying thump, and can be fixed by re-lubing the joint, it most certainly is the dealers responsibility to fix the problem.
What plastic plug are you talking about, and why would that help a lack of grease in the slip-joint area?

If people would complain to Isuzu customer service it might help, or do the repair yourselves and to-hell with the dealership service dept.
HTH.. :evil: Randy

·
Registered
1,238 Posts
Yeah, keep us in the loop on this. I just checked my records on this and I first brought my truck in when it was 11 months old with 12,481 miles. They wrote the thump was also found on new on the lot Amigo's/Rodeo's.