Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thanks, Ramblin, Cessna and RamAir, I appreciate the info. I'm sticking with the 4L30E, and I'm up to the task of a rebuild...I've been a marine mechanic since Chrysler had outboards and Paragon made boat transmissions. Did a lot of Velvet Drives, went to Borg-Warner marine transmission school many moons ago, so there's no technical sweat to this for me.
However: more questions- the kid I bought her from was draggin' a scrap trailer back and forth through these hills for a couple months, when he lost second, third and fourth. First gear is a couple seconds slow to engage, as is reverse, but both are solid. First will spin tires, as will reverse, and I took first all the way to 5500 without any noticeable fade. There's no leaks, no issues with the variable mode selector, but when it goes into second gear, the poor thing does an instant fade into freewheel.
Ergo, I am assuming that it's smoked...as I did the same to my poor old Trooper, may she rest in pieces.
Is there a possibility that there is another issue here? Servo problems? Of course, it does shift (into limbo)...Being that you are the isuzoo high-priests, I defer to your collective experience. Is there anything else to check before I break out the pressure washer and the jackstands?
Also, are there any 4L30E-specific quirks or gremlins I should be aware of in proceeding with this trans rebuild? Also, I'm considering using an old A/C condenser as a trans cooler afterwards, so as to avoid having a repeat performance. Kinda hillbilly, but it should work like a charm, shouldn't it? Please advise.
Thanks, y'all.

·
Registered
4,743 Posts
Forget the AC condenser - the tubes are too small.

Sounds like you've lost the intermediate sprag or the annular seals.

Tear it down - it's been ridden hard and put away wet.