Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
852 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First I'd like to introduce myself. Im a student at the U of T(Hookem Horns), majoring in marine biology. I was raised as an Army brat and lived all around the world. My real home now is in New Mexico and I love it. Now for the real Isuzu problem. I just inheriated an 04 Rodeo, the problem is the back is on stands and the center part of the alxe is out. There are 2 of them under the Rodeo. My step-mom said dad was putting in a different one, a no slip? So if anyone one could tell me the difference i would appricate it, and what it does? Thank You, Andie

·
Registered
116 Posts
Sounds like he was putting in a "locker" so niether of the rear wheels can slip relativet o each other, as they can in an "open" differential. Is there a newer looking box sitting around that says ARB on it? He maybe didn't get it purchased yet. Sounds like he was making it into a more serious off-road machine. You don't need or want a lockng diff. on the street. Brad

·
Registered
852 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I've looked the parts up and they are differentals. Mom said he was in the process of puting in a "no slip one". The problem is I dont know which is which, but you can easily see the difference in the two. There are no boxes or directions anywhere. Andie

·
Registered
1,509 Posts
He was probably putting in a limited slip (lsd). The lsd has clutches in the center most part, and the "open" one should just have smaller gears in the center most part(spider gears). I'll see if I can get you some pictures.

·
Registered
1,509 Posts
Here is a pic of the lsd

·
Registered
1,286 Posts