Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now that I've crossed over to the dark side, I hope there's cookies. They were in the brochure.
Excited to be part of another enthusiast community, forums rock. I still get birthday emails from the saturnfans forum from when I was a saturn owner some 15 years ago :mrgreen:

SO: Hi Everyone!! I'm Andrew, and I hail from the current hot death hell of Northern California.

Just took delivery today of a 2000 Rodeo LS. 197k miles. Runs great, starts up super fast, generally seems strong and has a lot of life left.
I'm not new to cars but I am new to 4x4. Price barrier to entry has always been my sticking point. Was lucky enough to find this old gal for $3k and I couldn't be happier. I've already done a pretty decent once-over on the interior and exterior, as well as checking fluids etc under the hood. Anything right off the bat that I should be looking at? Common issues?
I just signed up to the forum so before you yell at me to search first, just thought I'd ask. I'll be drilling thru the forum for sure over the next few days. (Also I dunno if this is the yelling kind of forum or not, each is different IMHO)

Quirks observed thus far:
• ABS Light (of course)
• "D" Light in PRND32L doesn't light up, all others do
• Odometer/trip stick-type button does nothing, I'm assuming a single press should toggle through trip and overall odo
• Door hinge detents crack loudly
• Plastic coating on visor bracket crumbled to dust
• Rear gate (the sideways one, not the glass) is hard to open (can this be greased/lubed?)
• Ye Olde black tar **** (can we cuss here?) dripping from vapor barrier onto doorsills
• Black roof plastic strips have been duct taped down, apparently original adhesive has given up the ghost?
• Seems to be some kind of blurry-*** window coating on rear passenger windows and rear hatch glass, suspect aftermarket tinting film.