Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Our 99 trooper has codes P0137;P1171;P0300 (misfire, lean, low #2 O2 sensor signal) and no power. They will clear and come right back if reved. Now it's idling only on a few cylinders, mostly the pass bank and won't go over about 1200 RPM . (Pull wires on pass bank and it dies - driver's side makes almost no difference)

It's running 40 psi fuel pressure with a new FPR, but the FPR made no change and it the trooper won't even move. New front of cat O2 probes made no difference, and new mass flow sensor also changed nothing.

I can't seem to find the famous intake manifold leak. D :( o these occur in any special area (pass side,driver's side, front, rear?)

Is there a way to time these engines, or are they pre-programmed?

Also, was wondering if the timing belt could have slipped on the pass bank?

Any help appreciated. Thanks
Got about 70,000 miles

·
Registered
455 Posts
Im a VW tech , at heart, and they go out all the time in the 99 and newer ones.
So often that VWOA has done a hush hush warranty on them if they fail before 70K.

·
Registered
894 Posts
Code0137 is the downstream O2 sensor on bank 1(passenger side). So changing the upstream sensors wouldn't be expected to have any effect. I really doubt it is a sensor problem but to truly rule this out as a problem you could swap the new upstream with the old downstream sensors and see if the code changes/problem moves.

I also doubt it is a coil problem. VW problems not withstanding, Isuzu coil pack don't seem to fail out of the blue. Even if they did I really, really doubt all 3 on one bank would have failed at the same time.

No, you cannot time your Trooper the computer does that work.