Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
793 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need a fuel pump now and trying to save money on everything.
I found there are some fuel pumps from ebay that only cost less than $30.
from rockauto is close to $100..
has anyone bought the cheap fuel pump from ebay and used it without the problems? how long would they last?

thanks

·
Registered
277 Posts
I can't say that I have bought it but I work in a shop and 2 weeks ago this guy had his jeep towed in and he had the exact same cheap ebay fuel pump for me to put in. I put it in and it worked fine but he had it towed back in on Friday and the new pump was shot so he had us put in a good one. I've seen it numerous times where someone puts in the cheap pump and ends up paying for it several months down the road. I would say the fuel pump is surely the part you would want to make sure is the best quality available. I would try to get an OEM pump if not I have had really good luck so far with denso fuel pumps.
I hope this helps.

·
Registered
793 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for replying, I think I would go for a brand name one. But I don't want to pay 300+ like I did three years ago, it was $470 total in a local AAA shop.

do you also know if there's a simple way to clean out inside the tank? I feel the tank is so rust it just clog the pump and filter.

My trooper just losing power and stall today in highway, and have it towed back to my house and I hammered the tank few times it would start, but rough, then stalls. I will change the fuel filter tomorrow first and see if that helps. how about just change the fuel pump strainer? if that's only thing clogged?

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
I'd stay away from Airtex. Put two of these in my BILs GMC and after the 2nd failed replaced it with an AC.