Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since im on a bit of a budget with this thing, im trying to get the most out of my auto hubs for now which work great untill i break one., last trip wheelin both of the retainer clips came off and let the CVs wander out and trashed both the outer joints by the time i got back to camp. i had it apart the day before to clean up the hubs, grease, and repack the wheel bearings and squeezed the clips shut before reinstalling them to make sure they fit tight, but they still let go after a few hours of some really twisty stuff and started to bind & pop as the wheels got stuffed up. Is there any certain trick anyone does to help keep them in place? im thinking i might just put the new CV in the lathe and machine the groove deeper and find a better snap ring.
Any tips are welcome, im a really good mechanic but new to the isuzu stuff, so just point me in the right direction.

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Guess im on my own lol
Ill figure something out.

·
Registered
1,155 Posts
You are not alone but may be no one has figured out a cure. Mine did that a couple of times never ruined the CV but it did take the end off the axle and I was forced to go to a manual hub. There are 2 grooves the outer for auto ,inner for manual. Your idea of a deeper groove may work or you might want to go to manual hubs. They call for I think a 26mm snap ring which is 1& 1/16 but I found that an inch worked better. DAVE

·
Registered
1,155 Posts
You are not alone but may be no one has figured out a cure. Mine did that a couple of times never ruined the CV but it did take the end off the axle and I was forced to go to a manual hub. There are 2 grooves the outer for auto ,inner for manual. Your idea of a deeper groove may work or you might want to go to manual hubs. They call for I think a 26mm snap ring which is 1& 1/16 but I found that an inch worked better. DAVE

·
Registered
165 Posts