Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I've been getting CE codes on my 1998 Isuzu Tooper (70K miles). The codes are P1171, P0137, P0157. All of these codes have to do with engine running LEAN during hard acelleration. I've been chasing this problem for a few months now and was wondering if anyone has any advise on what to do next (besides bring it to a dealer). The trunk seems to run fine and gas mileage is normal.

Here is what I have done (in order)

1) replace fuel filter (twice)

2) cleaned EGR valve and pipes. Cleaned MAF. Repalced air filter.

3) repalce fuel pressure reg as pressure was reading 38 psi at idle.

4) Replaced Intake Manifold Gaskets and injector seals.

5) Replaced fuel pump and screen. Fuel Pressure still reading around 38 psi at idle (book says should be 44 to 48 psi). I've checked for any obstructions but cannot find any. Maybe the new pressure regulator is also bad? When I disconect the Pressure Regulator vacuum hose the psi goes up to 50.

Result - CE light will still come on at high speeds when I step hard on the gas.

Thanks in advance for your input.

·
Registered
416 Posts
I had the exact same problem on my car. Unfortunately, replacing the O2 sensors was the fix for me. These are the post-Cat sensors that we are talking about.

Could the cats be fouled up therefore leading to consistently high oxygen levels? I highly doubt this, but I'm not sure how much of an impact these things could have on the O2 sensor readings as you've seemed to eliminate most of the other culprits.

I would check the MAF a little more closely with a voltmeter.

·
Registered
591 Posts