Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My ABS light has been intermittently coming on the past couple weeks or so.. However the last couple days it has been coming on pretty consistently.. I'm sure this has been covered before but I'm hoping some of you will be able to guide me through diagnosing my issue?

I'm new to the IZUZU thing and don't really know the ABS System, it's diagnostics or the best place to start? If the light is on does it throw a code of some kind or do you have to visually inspect each ABS component? If that's the case I'm OK with that but need to know what I'm looking at/for as far as sensors and such?

TIA..

·
Registered
7,543 Posts
we need production year and model and have to figure out if its possible the ABS system is not working or the sensors arent being read...i know we discussed it a little but its beyond me without more help from the members here that know the 2nd gens better. More info and a free bump to the top!!!

i have some of the ABS modules (the big block in the engine bay) as well as some sensor parts...but unless i know what type of ABS system you have (3 sensor or 4 sensor (at each wheel)....

TTT

Ron

·
Registered
12,184 Posts
The easiest way to troubleshoot the ABS is to connect up an ABS capable scan tool and retrieve the DTC(s) that are illuminating the ABS lamp. You could also retrieve the DTC(s) using the flash code method.

Since your ABS problem is intermittent, it is probably a broken wire in the rear sensor harness where the harness is clamped to the frame by the left rear axle control arm.

Your vehicle has 3 ABS sensors, one on each front wheel and one on top of the rear differential.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·