Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
‘89 Isuzu Pickup, 2.3L (one owner)
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I was reading a novel recently where the setup for the story has an electromagnetic pulse from outer space fry all of the electrical components on earth and the U.S. becomes a giant parking lot. Skip ahead and one of the new industries that develops is rebuilding autos to run without electronic control systems using the thousands of carburetors that have miraculously survived in junk yards. I’m not a mechanic; but I am old enough to remember my mechanic neighbors and cousins working on cars and trucks And tractors built in the ‘40’s through the ‘70’s that had no electronics nor vacuum hoses nor etc. And my first car was a ‘68 VW Beetle . So, I wondered what parts have to come out or be added to modern autos to do this without ECMs and vacuum actuated switches and valves, etc. (setting aside emissions regulations) . Surely Isuzu enthusiasts would be the first to be back on the road after the pulse?

·
Super Moderator
2,411 Posts
So, I was reading a novel recently where the setup for the story has an electromagnetic pulse from outer space fry all of the electrical components on earth and the U.S. becomes a giant parking lot. Skip ahead and one of the new industries that develops is rebuilding autos to run without electronic control systems using the thousands of carburetors that have miraculously survived in junk yards. I’m not a mechanic; but I am old enough to remember my mechanic neighbors and cousins working on cars and trucks And tractors built in the ‘40’s through the ‘70’s that had no electronics nor vacuum hoses nor etc. And my first car was a ‘68 VW Beetle . So, I wondered what parts have to come out or be added to modern autos to do this without ECMs and vacuum actuated switches and valves, etc. (setting aside emissions regulations) . Surely Isuzu enthusiasts would be the first to be back on the road after the pulse?