Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, I’m new to Isuzu’s and new to the site. I just purchased my first Isuzu Trooper yesterday (1999, V6, 4WD). I bought it knowing it had an issue with it…hoping it is what the computer says it is. The check engine light was on and the truck is making a rumbling noise and shakes a bit when driving. The computer initially gave a Bank 2 O2 sensor error and a Camshaft sensor error. I drove it a few miles to the gas station because the oil was non existent. I added the oil and hooked the computer up again. I only got a Camshaft sensor error. I drove it home 20miles and hooked it up again and got only the Camshaft sensor error again. So, my question is…..do I need to replace the O2 sensor and the Camshaft sensor? If the Camshaft sensor was really bad would the truck still run at all or could that actually be the cause of the rumbling? I really appreciate any help you’re willing to give. Thanks.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I realized I failed to mention that the previous owner explained that he hit a beach chair on the highway last month. When he brought it into the shop to get it fixed they told him they replaced the radiator (the chair had punctured it) and fixed the computer. The car was supposedly fixed but has not been driven since. Not sure if this matters but I thought I'd mention it.

·
Registered
11,778 Posts
The Camshaft Position Sensor (CPS) is used in conjunction with the Crankshaft Position Sensor (CKP) to determine which cylinder should be the first to fire on startup and to operate the Misfire Detector. If the CPS does not function, engine startup will be slightly delayed but it does not affect engine performance after the engine is running.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·