Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this although I use this website alot, this is my first post. I recently cleaned the throttle body on my Rodeo and after I finished cleaning it I started the engine to see if everything was still in good shape. (It was) The next morning I started it and heard the loudest knocking I have ever heard. But the knock would go away at 2200 RPM but it always came back. I started removing all the belts and my goal was the timing belt replacement. I got to the tensioner and found the top bolt had worked its way out and the bottom bolt was finger tight. So, now I am thinking the timing belt had jumped a notch or two, So, now I need help to locate the original positions of the marks and any help that I can get to get me back on the road again. If anyone has pics that would be great.

Thanks in advance

Bill

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I looked and can't determine where they are pointing, I've looked at the back cover and the outside cover on both sides and still can't seem find the marks. Whats bad is I have a Haynes but... well, I can't seem to find it.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi Jim,

I just notced that you are from WV, My girlfriend and I are from WV we currently live in Va. (Boone County for both of us) Now back to the timing thing. Yes it is the cam gears that I am looking for, I saw an indention on the right side but couldn't find anything on the left side I think the crank will be a little easier. I am still trying to figure if this is SOHC or DOHC.

Thanks

Bill

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Is the year of the vehicle that differentiates the SOHC and DOHC, and what is meant by NON-interference. Are the timing marks for the cam gears located on the outside of the timing cover? this is where I am getting lost in locating these things. There is nothing to show specifically where these marks are.