Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey all

I found this while looking through edmund.com forum for the 99 Trooper.
"Known problems in this car are oil consumption if PCV and EGR valve are not kept clean every 30K miles, also running synthetic oil seems to prevent this. " Have anyone try putting in synthetic oil? and cleaning the PCV and EGR valve to deal with the oil burning problem? I'm a newbie here just got my 99 Trooper yesterday! :D I donno if it burn oil or not :? i hope it doesnt lol

Eric

·
Registered
894 Posts
This is a very well covered topic on any Isuzu board and almost all of them have a "search" feature.

Be sure to frequently check your oil level as other than the dipstick you will not get any warning before losing an engine due to loss of oil.

·
Registered
823 Posts
Yes, I run full syn inthe new motor..yes, I keep the PCV adn EGR clean, and yes it still burns oil....
though no wher near whatt hte old one burned.....

I ahve just gotten into the habit of checking the oil at every fill up, adn or every week....

Chase

·
Registered
1 Posts
I've never seemed to see that connection, but I did recently change to Wal-Mart's brand of full-synthetic oil and after the first change, the oil level still went down as usual (maybe that's why I didn't see the connection between syn oil and not losing oil) but now, after the 2nd oil change, the level has only dropped from the full line on the dipstick to halfway between full and low and has stayed there for the last couple thousand miles (now its time for a change again). Maybe synthetic is the way to go then ($2.95/qt at Wal-Mart).

·
Registered
7,543 Posts