Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm a noob and did my first ever head gasket replacement. My Zu is up and running now so it was a success, but I have 2 little problems I wanted some advice on.

Problem #1 - Temperature gauge does not work at all now. All of the other gauges work - just not this one. I am guessing that I might need to replace the temperature sending unit? Has anyone had these things go bad and if so, any tips on replacement?

Problem #2 - Significant lack of power. When I am getting on a highway on-ramp that is a little uphill; she really struggles with it, and she didn't used to. I checked the timing and I'm pretty sure she's not missing or anything. My thought is that perhaps the cats are clogged up after blowing all the crap through them when the gaskets blew. Is that a possibility and has anyone had that happen?

I'm talking about a 1997 Rodeo - Auto, 3.2L V6, SOHC. Thanks for any tips or advice.

·
Registered
1,495 Posts
Did you verify the balancer mark before you checked the ignition timing?

·
Registered
160 Posts
If the temp sensor isnt working, its going to be in a limp mode, which shows why your having power issues. Make sure you plugged in all the wires that you disconnected.

·
Registered
1,495 Posts
The temperature sensor for the ECM is a different beast from the sender for the gauge.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks guys - I appreciate your input. Yes I did verify the balancer mark for the timing. I used the Hayes book for mine and it actually was all pretty straight forward (I've been confused by Hayes in the past - but I don't know it may just be my ignorance of things I 'should' know).

So, the temperature sending unit is just for the gauge and would not affect the performance of the car correct?