Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up a cheap Trooper 5spd. Runs OK 160K on odometer. I'm half way through my first tank of gas, at least according to fuel guage, and I'm sitting at 100 miles on half a tank?! There are no hills here and I drive slow and easy. I read some people said to try a fuel injector cleaner, but will this work on the 1991 2.8 tbi (I don't know much about engines)?

Are there any other options to check regarding fuel consumption? The engine runs smooth so I don't think it needs a tune up. It doesn't appear to be burning oil, but does have an exhaust leak.

I'm new to Isuzu, so any information is appreciated

·
Registered
1,286 Posts
It certainly won't hurt. Over the next couple of fill-ups, put a bottle of Chevron Techron or a comparable product in with the fuel. It'll help clean things out, especially if the truck sat for a while before you bought it.

You - should - be getting about 16-18mpg highway and if your really lucky, close to 19.

The Trooper has a 21.9 Gallon fuel tank so at optimum conditions, you should be getting close to 360-380 miles to the tank. I have been - very - lucky a few times and squeezed out 400 miles before filling up - but I was sweating whether I would be coasting into the gas station :lol:

What size tires are on your truck? Stock size was 235/75R15 which is a tire diameter around 29-29.5" If the tires are the wrong size, that can screw the mileage up too.

Air filter clean?

Exhaust system in good shape?

Documentation on oil changes, spark plug changes, O2 sensor changes, air filter changes? Tire pressure?

Cheers,

·
Registered
91 Posts
I'm currently fighting with a 1992 Rodeo for better mileage. My first tank only got me 175 miles :shock: The truck has the big tire package but I can't see them costing me that much gas...
I've done a lot of small things but no huge difference yet.
I'm planning on swapping the clutch fan with an electric one soon.