Isuzu SUV Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
733 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey gents I have been looking for a first gen with a V6 preferably with a 5 speed. I found one that looks pretty straight body and interior wise. Owner says blown HG.

Anyway obviously this would be a project but its an automatic so I assume GM 2.6 with stock auto trans. My questions are mainly to do with the trans.

1. What's the consensus on the V6 autos? Are the transmissions built well? Are they prone to failure? Is the trans GM or Isuzu? Has 176K on the clock.

2. I don't mind rebuilding the engine but don't want to do all that only to find that the trans is shot. Is there a way to evaluate that in a non runner?

3. If I bought it and the trans is bad how hard is it to get rebuild parts or how much of a pig of a job is converting it to a manual?

Just trying to figure out whether I should even consider this since I have zero experience with the V6 or an auto trans. Any input appreciated.

Thanks
Alan

·
Registered
12,549 Posts
The V6 engines are mated to a GM 4L30e automatic transmission. Most members in the forum have a very negative opinion of this transmission. The 4L30e was originally a 3L30e and used in a 53-60hp Chevrolet Chevette so it is not very rugged. Most shop rebuilds usually fail prematurely for reasons unknown and most members that try to rebuild one as a diy project are usually not successful.

·
Registered
1,143 Posts
Howdy again Alan,

Is it a 2.6L Isuzu 4-cylinder or 2.8L GM V6?